Kadri Voorand

“Kadri Voorand is a first class joyfully rousing entertainer with a great voice, great timing with a group of first class musicians closely tied together and flexibly underpinning her spontaneous asides and excursions.” – London Jazz News

Kadri Voorand is a jazz singer and a composer whose original music and expression has brought her a number of prizes and performances in Estonia as well as abroad. In 2019, she received President’s Young Cultural Figure Award and Jazz Album of the Year for “Kadri Voorand In Duo with Mihkel Mälgand” by Estonian Music Awards, in 2017, she received the Best Female Artist of the Year award at the Estonian Music Awards and her album “Armupurjus” (“Love Intoxication”) received the Best Jazz Album of the Year award. She received the Best Jazz Musician of the Year by Danske Bank award in Jazzkaar festival in 2015. In 2014, she received the prominent annual award of the Estonian Music Council. She has also been given the Young Jazz Talent Award of the Year 2008.

She was the soloist in the EBU European Jazz Orchestra during their European tour in 2012. During the last couple of years, she has appeared with her original music in many festivals and clubs, for example, in Ukraine, Russia, Finland, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Hungary, Norway and more. She has recorded several albums with some of the best jazz musicians in Estonia and abroad, for example Anthony Branker’s modern jazz album “Dance Music” in the USA. Besides collaborating with many other musicians, she also leads her own quartet and a cappella vocal sextet Estonian Voices.

Voorand has produced seven albums, four of which have been recognized at the Estonian Music Awards and her latest album has been released by legendary label ACT:

Kadri VoorandTunde kaja 2009
Kadri Voorand Trio Kosmoloogiline etüüd 2012
Estonian Voices Ole hea 2014 (Jazz Album of the Year 2015)
Kadri Voorand Quartet Armupurjus 2016 (Jazz Album of the Year 2017, Europe Jazz Media Top 10)
Estonian Voices Taat läks lolliks 2018 (Jazz Album of the Year 2018)
Tormis Quartet Tormisele/Hommage to Veljo Tormis 2018
Kadri Voorand In Duo with Mihkel Mälgand (ACT 2020, Jazz Album of the Year by Estonian Music Aards 2019, Musician of the Year 2020 by Estonian Public Broadcasting, Europe Jazz Media Charts, March 2020)

In the past few years, five CDs of her own projects have been released by Sheikid Records, her quartet’s album Armupurjus, a Capella album Estonian Voices Ole hea, her trio’s album Kosmogooniline etüüd, her debut CD Tunde kaja (Echo of a Feeling), and her first a cappella album Sheikid; as a lyricist and vocalist she sings on Tanel Ruben’s CDs Kogutud rikkus (Collected Riches) and Nõiutud Veerandtunnid (Enchanted Hours), Anthony Banker’s Dance Music, Kaspar Kalluste’s Koristaja; she also appears as a guest artist on CDs like Urmas Lattikas’ Ööliblika tants, Toomas Rull’s Eesti Hääled 2, Element’s Alumiinium LP, and Def Räädu’s Ahvid ja klahvid.