Soome Jazzliit: Joonas Haavisto Trio

19. 10. 2013

Teater NO99 jazzklubi
Sakala 3

Pianist Joonas Haavisto, bassist Antti Lötjönen and drummer Joonas Riippa have all established their positions amongst the Finnish “Top Ten” jazzers. They have played in e.g. UMO Jazz Orchestra, Five Cornes Quintet, Verneri Pohjola Quartet and Mikko Pellinen Mini Big Band. Trio marches proudly on towards their 10-year anniversary, having performed at numerous domestic and international festivals and recently toured in the UK and France. Joonas Haavisto has also enjoyed success in international solo piano competitions such as Jazz Improvizacija in Lithuania 2006, and Nottingham International Solo Piano Competition in 2010.


The latest album from this dynamic trio dives into the world of physics and nature, and it is descriptively titled ‘Micro to Macro’. Haavisto’s intriguing compositions and the fresh Scandinavian breeze in the trio’s sound have charmed the critics and audiences in Japan, where the record was voted number one within the newcomers by the country’s biggest record stores, Tower Records and Disk Union. The album was released in Japan by Blue Gleam, and in Finland by Fredriksson Music.


Joonas Haavisto Trio:

Joonas Haavisto – piano

Antti Lötjönen – bass

Joonas Riippa – drums


logo_dark_export NO99 Jazziklubi Philly Joe's LOGO_EJN viewer Sõru Jazz Artist JuuJääb VJ_jazzee